Nonbinary Gender Identities in Media: An Annotated Bibliography

I compiled an annotated bibliography of media (books, film, television, and Web) by and about people who identify as nonbinary. I’ve also included a glossary. This resource is published on the GLBTRT Professional Tools page.

Check it out here!

About Charlie McNabb

Archivist, Folklorist, Librarian, Legend Tripper, and Queer Activist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nonbinary Gender Identities in Media: An Annotated Bibliography

  1. sutematsu says:

    Thank you again for this bibliography, Charlie! I’ve already read a few of the online resources and it’s been a huge help. Although I generally have a pretty easy time understanding non-binary identities, I’ve had a hard time in the conceptualizing agender identities. (Which is particularly embarrassing, considering our friendship!)

    The quote by Micha of Neutrois Nonsense (featured in “The Shadow Sex”) has really helped me to start getting my head around it: “It’s not embracing both sides, or one side; it’s embracing neither. It’s not an absence of gender, and it’s not not caring about my gender. Quite the contrary—I care very strongly about my gender, my gender expression, and my gender perception. I have a gender, and it’s a neutral gender.”

    I had a fantastic light bulb moment when I read this. Would you say this is a pretty good explanation of how agender people generally feel about their gender?

Leave a Reply

